The workers compensation statute of limitation (SOL) in Wisconsin, states an injured worker is unable to proceed against the employer and insurance carrier if an application for hearing is not filed within 12 years from the date of injury, death, or the last payment of compensation (not medical bills). Wis. Stat. § 102.17(4). For death benefits, under Wisconsin Statutes Sec. 102.46 , the 12-year statute of limitation begins to run at the date of the worker's death and not at the date of injury. For traumatic injuries, meaning a single accident as opposed to job duties over time, the 12 years is reduced to 6 years starting with injuries occurring after February 2016.